Happy Monday Bouillabaisse

13 12 2010

As I lie in bed this lazy Monday morning, I muse on the excellence of the early day off. Stray thoughts enter and exit my cerebrum without consequence, until one suddenly sticks. I must make bouillabaisse.

I learn the words for fennel (hinojo) and leek (puerro), which Mercadona shockingly keeps in constant stock. Hector mashes together a magnificently garlicky rouille, and the hake purchased from my local fishmonger (Ina Garten, eat your heart out!) is ever-so-gently simmered towards flaky tomato-broth perfection. Today I remove my first-ever mussel beards.

Marta comes home to a piso overflowing with soupe de poisson. We pour the remaining chilled white wine, and together we feast.

Recipe here, although I changed it significantly. A good 2/3 of my broth was white wine, and I added both puréed tomatoes and tomato paste for more punch. A squeeze of lemon juice brightened up the essential seafoodiness, and I didn’t do any straining nor blending of the veggies. It is a seriously forgiving soup. Try it.


Actions

Information

5 responses

15 12 2010
linda

WANT! Please make this for Christmas Eve. . .

15 12 2010
contomates

it’s a deal! we can even throw some bogavante in there if you like.

16 12 2010
linda

What in the world is bogavante???

16 12 2010
31 01 2011
best things I have cooked so far in Spain « con tomates

[…] peas, red bell pepper, carrots, and pork sunday afternoon valencian paella with alex and hector happy monday bouillabaise chilaquiles stuffed green pepper soup dahl (with cardamom pods and nutmeg!) khao soi (with pickled […]

Leave a Reply

