Chocolatería San Ginés

24 09 2010

Ganas are one of my favorite aspects of Castellano. Tengo ganas means that I feel like doing something, that it sounds good to me, that I am anticipating with glee. Me faltan las ganas means that I’m lacking the lil’ puppies, and as such am disinclined to rise from my snuggly bed.

From whence do these ganas come? And when they lack, where is it they hide?

Neither Em nor I is privileged with knowledge of the mysterious mundo de las ganas. All we know is that tonight we’ve got a bad case of ’em for a dinner of chocolate y churros.

My favorite photo from Spain thus far – gonna get it blown up to poster-size.

We get the skinny on Madrid’s best chocolatería from Fausto; however, he refuses to join us as “chocolate is a winter thing.” We care little. The ganas don’t take no for an answer.

Sam texts at precisely the perfect moment and joins us at Sol’s bear statue.

Chocolatería San Ginés is tucked in a surprisingly snug street branching off from the main arteries of Sol. Chatty tables line the corridor, and the magic of ganas makes one of them immediately available.

There’s no need for a menu here – even if San Ginés offers further goodies, you’d be nutty not to get the eternal hot Spanish chocolate and fried churros combo. We tack on an order of porras – which are basically oversize churros – for good measure.

Not so drinkable as much as dippable and perhaps spoonable, Spanish chocolate is thick and darkly sweet. The churros lack the crunchy sugar coat of their Mexican cousins, upon which the three of us reminiscence about with great fondness, but it’s hard to complain when they’re accompanied by a cup of liquid gold.

It’s far from my favorite Spanish treat – I’d choose llao llao over churros any day – but who am I to deny the honeyed allure of the ganas?


Actions

Information

9 responses

24 09 2010
fa

not feel like drinking chocolate???? in fact, i had another appointment. What a pity! Chocolate always makes me feel so good, too in Autummm. Now , I’m sure that it’s our favourite Chocolatería.;)

24 09 2010
contomates

prefieres los churros normales or las porras? el mundo demanda saber.

25 09 2010
Linda

Chocolate is a winter thing?????! Que tipos de churros prefieres? No conzco churros las porras.

25 09 2010
contomates

las porras supuestamente contienen otro tipo de levadura (o algo asi) pero para mi lengua parecen nada mas churros gordos. prefiero los pequeños por su textura mas interesante!

25 09 2010
Rich

With my elementary skills, I thought that tengo ganas meant “I have balls.” Maybe we could sorta stretch it to “I am nuts for…”

Great post. Pics are excellent – I need you to teach me how to use this camera.

25 09 2010
contomates

the truth is that i hardly know myself!! try pushing it beyond what you think a camera should be able to do – obviously i’m a huge fan of low light compositions, at which it excels. i know i need to start playing around with the ISO too for even poppier shots.

have you read the manual? i started but want to return to it and finish.

28 09 2010
Rich

I’m only now finding the low light setting – you’re right it’s awesome. Tried some underwater shots today but it will definitely take practice. Hmm…the manual…

28 09 2010
Rich

I’m only now finding the low light setting – you’re right it’s awesome. Tried some underwater shots today but it will definitely take practice. Hmm…the manual…what a novel idea.

9 02 2012
>Field Trips and Day Trips Spanish Style « Shiney's Shiniest Adventure (Part 2)

[…] how this one compares. On Saturday, I went on a day trip with my roommates and Emily. My roommates tenían ganas to “do tourist,” as it’s roughly translated. For an explanation of what […]

Leave a Reply

